local fulfillment vs origin fulfillment

目的地仓配 与 原产地仓配

如果您需要优化电子商务仓配策略,必需要了解目的地仓配和原产地仓配的优点和缺点。 选择其中一个,或同时选择两者,都会对您的业务发展产生不同的影响。其中包括交货时间,灵活性以及税务问题。因此,在作出选择之前,让我们从更深一层的角度来划分两者中的任何一个,然后仔细研究它们的优缺点。

local fulfillment vs origin fulfillment

解读目的地仓配和原产地仓配

local fulfillment

目的地仓配

目的地仓配指的是您在目标市场或者客户所在的地方有自己的或者合作的仓配中心。 大部分使用目的地仓配的卖家通常位于较低消费水平的国家,并且目标客户群体是在该国家,这样的话,劳动力支出和仓配租赁也相对的比较低。另外,使用目的地仓配的卖家大多数会把货品批量运输到仓配中心或者他们想出售货品的国家或者地区。 例如,许多在孟加拉、中国和越南本地制造的知名的时尚品牌,都是使用海运来批量运输他们的货物产品往美国的零售店和品牌当地的仓配中心。 当客户在线订购产品时,他们的商品将是直接从美国的仓配中心发货。

origin fulfillment

原产地仓配

原产地仓配指的是保持自己的仓配中心靠近自己的货品制造商的所在地。 大部分小中型电子商务卖家都是偏向使用此仓配模式,因为这个模式不需要投入很大的资金又能够用较低的成本去吸引全球客户。使用此仓配模式的卖家通常会把制造商设立在人工成本的国家和地区从以节省成本,这个模式的做法也很简单,当接到订单后,产品会通过各种快递服务直接发货到客户手里。

优点与缺点

目的地仓配

目的地仓配主要的优势在于,在大多数情况下,交付时间会较短。 产品已经运送于靠近客户的所在位置,所以可以在任何时候接到订单后立即通过本地派送服务进行运送。但是,比如说在美国,当卖家只有一个仓配中心在西岸或者东岸时,运输速度并非如此快速了,美国邮政(USPS)可能需要大约5个工作天的时间才能将包裹运送到美国的另一端;而DHL可以在3个工作天之内将包裹从中国寄给美国境内给任何客户。 另一个目的地仓配的的优势是总运输成本(不含税)大部分较低。 这是因为在大多数情况下,货运代理使用的是海运,而海运通常比空运便宜。 而且,由于仓配中心是在本地的或者接近目标市场,因此能够更容易的处理退货问题并直将它们添加到现有库存中。

但是,目的地仓配存在一些重大缺点。 首先,要是您有多个目标市场或者在每个国家或地区都拥有一批客户,您便需要更多的资金来建立自己的本地的仓配中心。在大部分情况下,租金和人工成本也相对较高,因为与制造地点相比,这些产品大多在消费水平较高的国家或地区销售。 所以也衍生了目的地仓配的另外一个弊端,就是管理库存风险上也变得更加困难了,因为您必须更准确地预测客户的需求去决定库存量。 保留过多库存或没有预留足够库存,都能够导致卖家花更多的成本。 此外,由于产品已经批量的运往到目的地国家或地区,这意味着您将在该地区纳税。

  • 在大多数情况下,交货时间更短
  • 在大多数情况下,运输成本较低
  • 更容易管理客户的退货问题
  • 更高的租金和人工成本
  • 保持过多库存的风险
  • 存货不足的风险
  • 税收成本较高
advantages and disadvantages
advantages and disadvantages

原产地仓配

很多直销平台和中小型电子商务公司及卖家喜欢选择原产地仓配作为他们的运输模式,因为这个模式对于他们的运营是非常合适而且具有强大的优势的。原产地仓配最大的优势之一是产品从制造地直接运输到终端客户的手里,在管理库存流时提供了极大的灵活性。每当库存用完时,由于离制造商很近,所以能够很及时可的进行货物补充。另一个主要优点是您在很多国家或地区无需支付税金,因为产品是以B2C模式直接装运和发货的,所以选择这个仓配模式能够帮助您节省一大部分的运营成本。另外,由于仓配中心靠近制造商,因此人工和租金成本通常远低于目的地仓配模式,对于大多数公司而言,这意味着如果把仓配服务设置于工资相对较低的国家或地区,这种集中处理的方法更具成本效益而且也更易于管理,因为您把所有或大多数产品都集中在一个地方做仓配,这可以从而简化了您的库存管理,并且不需要使用复杂的库存分配策略。原产地仓配也帮助卖家更容易的去测试新市场,因为这个模式只需要投入少量的资金,您只需要把目标市场的国家或地区添加到您的销售渠道里并寻找物流供应商去添加运输路线,便可以开始销售了。

当然,原产地仓配模式也存在一系列不利因素的,其中一个局限条件是您需要选择当地的物流和仓配合作伙伴,比如说您选择了在中国进行仓配服务,这可能意味着您必须处理本地语言和文化障碍带来挑战。 另外,取决于您选择了哪种仓配和物流合作伙伴,交货时间也是有可能比使用目的地仓配的时间更长。 而且,这个模式需要面对一个比较大的挑战是难以处理和管理退货问题,因为涉及到需要客户自己将产品寄回原产地。 如果您的平台商店是有提供退货服务,请确保与物流供应商紧密合作。

  • 库存的灵活性更高
  • 零税率或低税率
  • 降低人工和租金成本
  • 易于库存管理分配
  • 更容易测试新市场的反应
  • 与本地合作伙伴合作可能会很困难
  • 总交货时间可能会更长
  • 退货处理并非始终可行

Shipkoo酷运的服务

如果您不确定哪种仓配模式和策略最适合您的电子商务业务,除了可以持续关注我们的网站之外,还可以主动联系我们,您只需要花两分钟把您的资料和运输仓配问题填写一下,Shipkoo酷运的专家将会尽快联系您并提供建议。 我们的服务范围非常广泛,其中包括了日本、韩国和美国的仓配服务。您也可以使用我们的原产地仓配服务,我们有多个位于中国深圳的物流仓配中心,将您的产品直接从“世界工厂”深圳直接运送到世界各地的客户,除了能够享受到时效快效益高的服务,我们也希望凭借多年的专业知识和较低的运输成本来促进您的电子商务业务发展!

local fulfillment vs origin fulfillment

Local Fulfillment vs Origin Fulfillment

To optimize your eCommerce fulfillment strategy, it is important to understand the advantages and disadvantages of local fulfillment and origin fulfillment. Choosing one or the other, or choosing both, can have a major impact on various factors. These include delivery time, flexibility, and whether or not you have to pay taxes. So let’s start by dividing a little deeper into what either of them entail, and afterwards take a closer look at their advantages and disadvantages.

local fulfillment vs origin fulfillment

Definitions

local fulfillment

Local Fulfillment

It is a fulfillment strategy in which your fulfillment facilities are close to where your customers are. Many companies that use this strategy produce elsewhere, often countries with low labor costs, and then ship the products in bulk to a fulfillment center in the country where they want to sell the products. For example, many well-known fashion brands produce in countries such as Bangladesh, China and Vietnam and use sea freight to ship their product to retail stores and local fulfillment centers in The United States. When customers order products online, their items will be shipped directly from the fulfillment center in the United States.

origin fulfillment

Origin Fulfillment

It is a fulfillment strategy in which you keep your fulfillment facilities close to where the manufacturers are. Many small or medium sized eCommerce companies use this strategy as it requires less investment to reach more global customers. It is often the case that these companies produce and fulfill from countries with labor costs, and then ship products directly to worldwide customers. When orders come in, the products are shipped directly using various express shipping services, including couriers like DHL.

Advantages and Disadvantages

Local Fulfillment

The main advantage of local fulfillment is that in most cases the delivery time is shorter. Products are already located close to the customer and can be shipped by using a local delivery service as soon as orders come in. However, an example of where this would not be the case is when a company only has one fulfillment center in the United States. It may take USPS about 5 days to deliver a package to the other side of the country, whereas DHL can deliver a package from China to any customer across the United States in 3 days. Another advantage of local fulfillment is that the total transportation costs (excluding taxes) are mostly lower. This is because in most cases freight forwarders use sea freight, which is cheaper than air freight as often used for direct express shipping. Moreover, since the fulfillment centers are local, it is much easier to handle returns and add them to the existing inventory.

However, there are also some significant disadvantages to having local fulfillment. First and foremost, it is much more capital intensive to have local fulfillment centers in every country you have customers in. In many cases, the rent and labor costs are also relatively higher since the products are sold in countries with higher wages compared to where they are manufactured. With local fulfillment it is also much harder to manage inventory risk, as you have to more accurately predict customer demand. You easily either keep too much inventory or not enough, which both result in huge costs. In addition, since products are shipped into the destination country in bulk, this means that you will have to pay taxes which in many countries can also result in very high cost.

  • Shorter delivery time in most cases
  • Transportation costs are lower in most cases
  • Easier to manage returns
  • Higher rent and labor costs
  • Risk of keeping excessive inventory
  • Risk of not having enough inventory
  • Tax costs are higher
advantages and disadvantages
advantages and disadvantages

Origin Fulfillment

There are many reasons why origin fulfillment could be the best choice for your eCommerce fulfillment strategy, especially for small and medium sized ecommerce players. It is also the strategy used by dropshipping platforms, in which products are always shipped directly from where they are manufactured. One of the biggest advantages of origin fulfillment is that it gives great flexibility in managing inventory flows. Whenever stock is running out, it can easily be replenished due to its proximity to the manufacturer. Another major advantage is that for many countries you don’t have to pay taxes, since products are shipped directly for B2C purposes. It can save you tremendous costs if you choose the right strategy for the right destination countries. In addition, the labor and rent costs are often much lower in origin fulfillment since the fulfillment center is close to the manufacturer, which for most companies means it’s in a relatively low wage country. This more centralized approach makes it much more cost efficient, but also much easier to manage. All or most of your products are in one place which simplifies your inventory management and doesn’t allow complicated inventory allocation strategies. Lastly, it is also easier to test out new markets, as it requires very little investment. Just add the destination country to your sales channel and have your logistics providers add the shipping route and you’re good to go.

Of course, there are also a set of disadvantages to origin fulfillment. It can mean that you have to deal with local partners in countries such as China where the language barrier poses challenges. Depending on what kind of logistics partner you use, the delivery time might be longer compared to when you use local fulfillment. Also, it can be harder to manage returns since it’s not always possible to send the products back to where they came from. If really necessary, make sure to work with a logistics provider who can provide local returns in addition to origin fulfillment.

  • Much higher flexibility for inventory
  • Zero or low tax costs
  • Lower labor and rent costs
  • Easier to manage
  • Easier to test out new markets
  • Can be difficult to work with local partners
  • Total delivery time can be somewhat longer
  • Return handling not always possible

What Can Shipkoo Do For You?

If you are still not sure which fulfillment strategy is the best for your eCommerce business, drop us a line and talk to one of our specialists for advice. We can help you with origin fulfillment directly from Shenzhen, China, allowing you to ship your products straight from the “factory of the world” to wherever your customers are located around the world. Benefit from years of expertise and discounted volume rates to boost your eCommerce business!